Community Forestry & Environmental Research Partnership

CFERP website
I am very honored to receive a pre-dissertation fellowship from the Community Forestry & Environmental Research Partnership (CFERP) program this year. During the last twelve years this program was bringing university students to communities to conduct participatory research projects focused on community forestry and related topics. It is a rare opportunity to join a lively community of CFERP fellows and scholars, and engage in rigorous discussion of community-based environmental projects.

I am also very privileged to work with my community partner – the Bronx River Alliance, an organization known for its excellence in restoring ecosystems along the Bronx River greenway, and connecting local residents with nature. The overall idea of this research will be to find how environmental education can promote environmental stewardship in the Bronx communities. During the next few weeks I will work with the BxRA and their partner organizations to revise the research proposal that I submitted to CFERP. Here is the first version of this proposal.

Finally, I am very grateful to work with my advisor, Dr. Marianne Krasny in DNR, Cornell University, and other research committee members who provide critical feedback for the proposal and lead me through this research project, and Gretchen Ferenz at Cornell Cooperative Extension who provides mentorship in NYC. And I am thrilled to work in the Bronx, my favorite neighborhood in the U.S. This blog will help me to reflect on different experiences in the Bronx, and to document some ideas that will not end up in the formal report of this research.

Comments are closed.

